CHS expert veterinary panel

To ensure the highest standards, expert veterinary surgeons, appointed by BVA, are responsible for examining, scoring and grading all the submissions to our hip, elbow and CM/SM schemes. All BVA/CHS/ISDS Eye Panellists who perform the clinical examinations of the dogs participating in the Eye Scheme are qualified to a diploma level.

Scrutineers for the Hip and Elbow Dysplasia Schemes

We have 10 Scrutineers for the Hip and Elbow Dysplasia Schemes, all of whom are diplomates in radiology and/or orthopaedic surgery and have many years of experience in assessing hip and elbow radiographs.

Chief Scrutineer, Dr Jerry V. Davies BVetMed PhD DVR DipECVS DipECVDI FRCVS

Chief Scrutineer, Dr Jerry Davies, oversees the Hip and Elbow Dysplasia Schemes.

Jerry graduated from the Royal Veterinary College (RVC) in 1974 and then spent 12 years in the Department of Surgery as houseman, Lecturer in Veterinary Radiology and latterly Senior Lecturer in Surgery.  He is a Diplomate of the European Colleges of Veterinary Surgeons and Veterinary Diagnostic Imaging.

Jerry has been working in private small animal referral practice since 1990, establishing Davies Veterinary Specialists (DVS) in 1998. He now Chairs the Board of DVS, which is a large, single site, specialist practice and works part time as a radiologist. In 2004 he was recipient of the BSAVA Simon Award for outstanding contributions to Small Animal Surgery.  Jerry has served the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons as Chair of PIC, Treasurer and President.

Panellists for the Eye Scheme

There are 39 panellists for the CHS Eye Scheme, all of whom are experts in ophthalmology.

Chief Panellist, Professor Peter Bedford, BVetMed PhD DVOphthal DipECVO FHEA FRCVS

Chief Panellist, Professor Peter Bedford overseas the CHS Eye Scheme.

A graduate of the Royal Veterinary College (RVC), London, Peter Bedford gained his PhD for studies on canine glaucoma and his RCVS Fellowship for work on aqueous dynamics in the dog. He was the GDBA Professor of Canine Medicine and Surgery at the RVC and Head of its Department of Small Animal Medicine and Surgery. Currently he is Professor Emeritus of Veterinary Ophthalmology (London University) and Visiting Professor in Ophthalmology at St. Georges University (Grenada).

He has worked in referral practice since his retirement from the RVC in 2002. Peter is a Past President of the BSAVA, the ESVO, the WSAVA, the ISVO and the ECVO. He is an RCVS Diplomate in Veterinary Ophthalmology and an RCVS registered Specialist in this discipline. He is a Diplomate of the European College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists and has been the course director for the ESAVS ((European School of Advanced Veterinary Studies) ophthalmology courses since their inception in 1996. He has received the BSAVA`s Simon, Bourgelat and Blaine Awards for work in ophthalmology and was the ISVO`s Magrane Memorial Lecturer in 2009.

In 2014 he received the UK Kennel Club`s International Lifetime Achievements Award for his work in the control of hereditary ocular disease.  His interests include all aspects of veterinary and comparative ophthalmology, and current research includes inherited retinopathies and canine primary open angle glaucoma. His hobbies include sailing, gardening and travelling as far and as wide as possible.

Scrutineers for the Chiari Malformation/ Syringomyelia Scheme

Chief Scrutineer, Professor Michael Herrtage MA BVSc DVSc DVR DVD DSAM FRCVS Dip ECVIM Dip. ECVDI

Chief Scrutineer, Professor Michael Herrtage, oversees the Chiari Malformation/ Syringomyelia Scheme.

Mike graduated from Liverpool University and is currently Professor of Small Animal Medicine at the University of Cambridge and a Fellow of St. Edmund's College, Cambridge.  He is Dean of the Cambridge Veterinary School and is in charge of the small animal medicine and diagnostic imaging services at the Queen's Veterinary School Hospital. 

Throughout his career, Mike has received a number of awards for his contribution to small animal veterinary medicine. In 2016, he also received the Kennel Club International Canine Awards’ Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of a career dedicated to improving canine health and welfare.

He has been President of the British Veterinary Radiology Association, President of the British Small Animal Veterinary Association, President of the European Society of Veterinary Internal Medicine and President of the European Board of Veterinary Specialisation.  He is a Diplomate of both the European College of Veterinary Internal Medicine and of the European College of Veterinary Diagnostic Imaging and was until recently President of the European College of Veterinary Internal Medicine. He was awarded the European Board of Veterinary Specialisation Award In 2018, for ‘outstanding contributions to the course of Veterinary Specialisation in Europe’.