BVA veterinary awards

BVA recognises outstanding contributions to the veterinary profession through several awards.

We also award BVA travel grants to students and new graduates.

Chiron Award

The Chiron Award is presented for outstanding contributions to veterinary science, or for outstanding services to the veterinary profession, judged in either case as being of a calibre commanding international or inter-professional recognition.  

The 2019 award was presented to Professor Abdul Rahman

Previous Chiron Award recipients (PDF 23 KB)

How to nominate

Nominations for 2020 are now closed. 

Dog having operation

vet and nurse working

Dalrymple-Champneys Cup and Medal

The Dalrymple-Champneys Cup and Medal is presented to a member of BVA to recognise work of outstanding merit.

As a mark of the esteem in which he held the veterinary profession, Sir Weldon Dalrymple-Champneys presented a Cup to the BVA in 1934.The object of this gift was to mark and recognise work of outstanding merit which it is considered will encourage the advancement of veterinary science.

The award is also open to those who have done work which has not been published or have undertaken other activities which are considered to have encouraged the advancement - and dissemination of knowledge - of veterinary science and medicine.

The 2019 cup and medal was awarded to Professor David Noakes

For further information email [email protected]

Previous Dalrymple-Champneys Cup and Medal recipients (PDF)

How to nominate

Please read the criteria for citations.

Make a nomination online or download the form (Docx) and return to [email protected].

The deadline for nominations has been extended to 17 June 2020.

For further information email [email protected].

The Trevor Blackburn Award

The Trevor Blackburn Award is made to a member of BVA in recognition of contributions to animal health and welfare in a developing country.

This award was instigated in 2006 in memory of Trevor Blackburn, President of BVA 1984-85, the Commonwealth Veterinary Association 1988-91, and the World Veterinary Association 1991-95.

In creating the award, BVA was mindful of the countless numbers of British veterinary surgeons who have served overseas, especially in the tropics, over the past 200 years.

Many of those in the early days were in the colonial service or, later, worked with government departments or aid organisations in newly independent countries. All contributed to the control of livestock disease and the raising of standards of animal and human health.

Today many British veterinary surgeons still live and work overseas but many are 'volunteers' and often sacrifice much in order to contribute to animal health and environmental needs in poorer parts of the world. Often their altruism does not receive the acclaim it deserves and the Trevor Blackburn Award, named after a colleague who believed passionately that the profession has so much to offer, provides an opportunity to recognise those people.

BVA members can nominate a fellow BVA member who they think deserves to have their valuable overseas work acknowledged.

The 2017 award was presented to Karen Reed.

The award was not made in 2018 or 2019.

How to nominate

Nominations for 2020 are now closed. 

vet using microscope

vet and calfs

The Bleby Cup

The Bleby Cup is presented by BVA Officers annually to the Council member who, in the opinion of the Officers, has made an outstanding contribution at Council. The Cup was given to the Association by John Bleby after a remarkable 42 years on BVA Council representing Central Veterinary Society. Professor Bleby’s final Council meeting was in July 2010. 

The current holder of the Bleby Cup is Emma Callaghana locum vet from Thankerton and Director of Vet Trust. 

For further information contact [email protected]