Electing BVA officers

The Electoral College

The Electoral College is the body of electors that assesses nominations and formally selects members for election to officer status. 

Members of the Electoral College

Patricia Colville

Patricia Colville

Patricia works in the referral and out of hours environment as Business Development Director for Vets Now, having previously managed their Glasgow 24/7 Emergency and Specialty Hospital. Patricia is also on the Council of BVA Scottish Branch, and a Director and Trustee of Vetlife.

“Now more than ever it’s important that we have talented and motivated individuals willing to work hard on our behalf and show leadership of the profession. I’m delighted to be playing a role in ensuring the appropriate balance of skills and experience across the BVA Officer team”

James Bould

James BouldJames works as a small animal vet in Lincolnshire where he’s been employed since graduating from the University of Nottingham. He has a keen interest in countryside issues which stems from his rural background in Derbyshire.

“The BVA president performs a vital role in representing the veterinary profession and promoting the importance of animal welfare and the role of vets in society. It is therefore crucial that we select candidates with the right skills, experience and character to undertake this important job. The next few years are likely to present some great opportunities for the profession to help shape public policy and improve animal welfare.”

David Williams

David WilliamsHaving worked at referral and research institutions, and in private practice, David currently runs the ophthalmology clinic at the University of Cambridge and is director of studies in veterinary medicine at St John’s College. David is a member of the BVA CPD Committee and a former member of the BVA Ethics and Welfare Group.

“I have experience of working on other BVA committees and so an understanding of the workings of the association. I work with a number of veterinary practices and research and educational institutions, so hope I have an ear to the ground, as it were, of what BVA members are wanting in a president.”

In addition to 3 BVA members, the Electoral College consists of:

  • Independent chair (Nairn Wilson, past president of the British Dental Association) - non-voting
  • BVA officers (Gudrun Ravetz, Sean Wensley, John Fishwick)
  • a BVA past president (Robin Hargreaves)
  • BVA Board Chair (Philip Lowndes) - non-voting

For more information, see the Electoral College terms of reference (126 KB PDF).