Our structure

Honorary members

Honorary members

Honorary members are elected at the AGM on the recommendation of Council and are eminent professional and scientific persons and others who have rendered distinguished service to the Association, to the veterinary profession, or to the advancement of veterinary science.

Honorary members have none of the liabilities of members and aren't entitled to vote unless previously members of the Association. They're entitled to attend our annual Congress and receive free copies of the official journal and the annual report, plus other privileges Council may decide on with the sanction of an AGM.

Current BVA honorary members:

  • Mr Martin Alder
  • Professor Peter M Biggs CBE
  • Lord Boswell of Aynho (Non-Affiliated)
  • Baroness Byford DBE 
  • Rt Hon Alistair Carmichael MP (LibDem)
  • Lord Curry of Kirkharle KB CBE FRAgS (CB)
  • Baroness Fookes DBE (Con)
  • Rt Hon Sir Roger Gale MP (Con)
  • Rt Hon Caroline Nokes MP (Con)
  • Mr Dai George
  • Ms Jo Gibson
  • Mr Llyr Gruffydd MS (PlC)
  • Mr Mark Isherwood MS (Con)
  • Mr Ben Lake MP (PIC)
  • Dr Lars Holsaae
  • Dr Bruce Little  
  • Mr Liam McArthur MSP (LibDem)
  • Dr Sandor Mile
  • Mr Edward Mountain MSP (Con)
  • Dame Bridget Ogilvie
  • Mr Neil Parish MP (Con)
  • Brigadier Andrew Parker Bowles OBE
  • Lord Plumb of Coleshill DL 
  • Dr Alastair R W Porter CBE
  • Dr S Abdul Rahman
  • Mr John Scott
  • Ms Angela Smith
  • Rt Hon Dr Gavin Strang
  • Dr Alex Thiermann
  • Lord Trees of the Ross in Perth and Kinross (CB)  
  • Mr Roger Williams CBE

Honorary associate members


  • Baroness Hodgson of Abinger CBE (Con)
  • Rt Hon Nick Brown MP (Lab)
  • Rt Hon the Lord Clark of Windermere DL (Lab)
  • Baroness Young of Old Scone (Lab)
  • Mr Daniel Zeichner MP (Lab)
  • Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown MP (Con)
  • Lord de Mauley TD (Con)
  • Mr Tim Farron MP (LibDem)  
  • Lord Grantchester (Lab)
  • Mr James Gray MP (Con)  
  • Lord Gardiner of Kimble (Non-Affiliated)
  • Baroness Mallalieu QC (Lab)
  • Baroness Masham of Ilton DL (CB)
  • Baroness McIntosh of Pickering (Con)
  • His Grace the Duke of Montrose (Con)
  • Baroness Parminter (LibDem)
  • Rt Hon Owen Paterson MP (Con)  
  • Mr Andrew Rosindell MP (Con)
  • Rt Hon Liz Saville Roberts MP (PlC)
  • Mr Alyn Smith MP (SNP)
  • Lord Taylor of Goss Moor (LibDem)
  • Lord Teverson (LibDem)
  • Rt Hon the Viscount Thurso (LibDem) 
  • Rt Hon John Whittingdale OBE MP (Con)
  • Rt Hon the Lord Wigley (PIC)

Scottish Parliament

  • Mr Finlay Carson MSP (Con)
  • Mr Maurice Golden MSP (Con)
  • Ms Emma Harper MSP (SNP)
  • Mr Mark Ruskell MSP (Green)

Welsh Parliament / Senedd Cymru

  • Mr Rhun ap Iorwerth MS (PlC)
  • Mr Andrew R T Davies CBE MS (Con)
  • Mr Vaughan Gething MS (Lab)
  • Mr Huw Irranca-Davies MS (Lab) 
  • Ms Elin Jones MS (PlC)

Northern Ireland Assembly

  • Mr William Irwin MLA (DUP)
  • Mr Patsy McGlone MLA (SDLP)
  • Ms Naomi Long MLA (Alliance)


  • Ms Angela Burns         
  • Dr David Drew
  • Mrs Avril Doyle
  • Ms Jill Evans
  • Mr Jim Fitzpatrick
  • Mr Rob Flello
  • Mr Mike Flynn MBE
  • Dr Awal Fuseini
  • Mr Andrew George 
  • Mr David Heath CBE
  • Ms Marisa Heath
  • Mr Peredur Hughes OBE
  • Mr Jim Hume
  • Dr Julian Huppert  
  • Rt Hon Sir David Lidington KCB CBE
  • Dr Dai Lloyd 
  • Mr George Lyon
  • The Countess of Mar
  • Mr John McCallister
  • Dr Elaine Murray
  • Mr Jim Nicholson
  • Mr Tony Pexton
  • Dr Amer Rashid
  • Mr Dennis Robertson
  • Sir Bob Russell
  • Ms Antoinette Sandbach
  • Mr Tavish Scott
  • Mr David Simpson
  • Mr Struan Stevenson
  • Brigadier Roly Walker DSO
  • Ms Maureen Watt
  • Mr Richard Wright

Life members

Any member who, in the opinion of Council, has given long and valuable support to the Association may be elected a life member of the Association by a general meeting of the Association on the recommendation of Council.

Life members retain all their rights and privileges including the right to vote and receive publications of the Association, but are exempted from payment of future subscriptions.