Our structure

BVA Northern Ireland Branch

BVA Northern Ireland Branch exists to represent members in Northern Ireland. It brings together representatives of our specialist divisions, Government, academic institutions, and research organisations in Northern Ireland.

If you're a BVA member living in Northern Ireland, you'll automatically be a member of BVA Northern Ireland Branch.

Role of Northern Ireland Branch

Our aims are to:

  • Foster the interests of the veterinary profession in Northern Ireland
  • Promote BVA in Northern Ireland
  • Advise on the consensus view of BVA members in Northern Ireland on Northern Irish and UK issues, particularly with reference to the NI Assembly, DAERA, the Ulster Farmer's Union, and Northern Ireland animal welfare organisations
  • Promote meetings in any part of Northern Ireland for the discussion of veterinary topics and related subjects

Veterinary voice for Northern Ireland

We want to make sure the veterinary voice is heard in the Northern Ireland Assembly and Executive.

View our latest campaign activity in Northern Ireland

Representation on BVA Council

Northern Ireland is represented on BVA Council by Esther Skelly-Smith as the elected regional representative, and Susan Cunningham as the Branch representative.

You can contact your representatives directly on [email protected] or [email protected]

Northern Ireland Branch team

  • Susan Cunningham - President 
  • Aurelie Moralis – Senior Vice President 
  • Mark Little - Junior Vice President
  • Rachel Davies - Honorary Secretary 

Northern Ireland Branch Council

The role of the Northern Ireland Branch Council is to:

  • Discuss veterinary policy issues as they relate to Northern Ireland and make all efforts to reach a consensus view on those issues
  • Assist BVA in formulating policy

Northern Ireland Branch meetings

Minutes of the Northern Ireland Branch AGM 2019 (PDF 133 KB)

More information

To learn more about the work of the Northern Ireland Branch please contact  [email protected]

You can also download the Northern Ireland Branch Constitution

  • Northern Ireland Branch Council members

    • Susan Cunningham (President)
    • Mark Little (Junior Vice President)
    • Rachel Davies (Honorary Secretary and YVN representative)
    • Aurelie Moralis (Senior Vice President)
    • Esther Skelly-Smith (Northern Ireland representative to BVA Council)
    • Seamus O'Kane (Association of Veterinarians Practising in Northern Ireland)
    • Cathal Carr (SPVS)
    • Greg Koulianos (BVPA)
    • Fiona McFarland 
    • Ruth Moreno (VPHA)
    • Vacant (BCVA)
    • Vacant (BEVA)
    • Vacant (DAERA)
    • Vacant (AFBI)