BVA Officers

Electing BVA officers

The Electoral College

The Electoral College is the body of electors that assesses nominations and formally selects members for election to officer status.

Join the BVA Electoral College 

We’re currently looking for a new member of the Electoral College.

You’ll need to be a current BVA member with an understanding of, and commitment to, our vision, mission and values. You’ll also need to be willing to review nominations in advance of the meeting, participate constructively in debate on the day, and respect the confidential nature and integrity of the process.

Applicants must be available to attend the Electoral College meeting on Wednesday 9 February 2022.

Nominations are open to all veterinary surgeon BVA members, other than past presidents, or anyone currently serving as a division or RCVS officer.

To apply, complete the online application form by 9am Monday 18 October 2021.

If you have any questions, please contact Head of Policy and Governance Amelia Findon [email protected]

Current members of the Electoral College:

Patricia Colville

Patricia works in the referral and out of hours environment as Business Development Director for Vets Now, having previously managed their Glasgow 24/7 Emergency and Specialty Hospital. Patricia is also on the Council of BVA Scottish Branch, and a Director and Trustee of Vetlife.

“Now more than ever it’s important that we have talented and motivated individuals willing to work hard on our behalf and show leadership of the profession. I’m delighted to be playing a role in ensuring the appropriate balance of skills and experience across the BVA Officer team”

Paul Freeman

Paul recently retired after a 39 year career in small animal and mixed veterinary practice, most of which was spent in rural Northumberland. He has an active interest in the governance of the profession and the welfare and well-being of its members. Paul currently represents the North East of England on BVA Council and has served on BVA’s Member Benefits Committee.

“I believe that my professional and life experience equips me well to assess applications for the role of BVA Junior Vice President (and future President). I have a sound and comprehensive understanding of how BVA works, and the attributes that contribute to its successful leadership”

James Bould

James is currently a full-time companion animal veterinary surgeon in a busy general practice in the Staffordshire Moorlands having qualified in the first cohort from the University of Nottingham in 2011. Prior to this he completed a BSc in Bio-veterinary Science at the University of Liverpool. Currently serving on our Member Benefits Committee, James is a strong supporter of BVA and has a genuine desire to contribute to the profession. Having already served one term of office on Electoral College he understands the importance of a robust process for selecting a Junior Vice President with the right skills, experience and character.

“I believe the BVA plays an incredibly important role in representing the profession; promoting the role of vets and improving animal welfare through its campaigns and government lobbying. The president is the face of the association and the profession. As such it is crucial we select the best candidate”

In addition to 3 BVA members, the Electoral College consists of:

  • Independent chair (Dr Judith Hulf) - non-voting
  • BVA Officers (Malcolm Morley, James Russell, Justine Shotton)
  • a BVA Past President (Gudrun Ravetz)
  • BVA Board Chair (Steve Anderson Dixon) - non-voting

For more information, see the Electoral College terms of reference (PDF 126 KB).