BVA Council

BVA Council represents all members and is the key debating chamber within the Association. All BVA committees report to Council.

Regional representatives

Find out more about the regional representatives and how to contact the representative in your area.

Role of Council

  • to represent members’ views on matters of veterinary policy
  • to advise the Board on matters of veterinary policy 
  • to appoint four members as Directors of the Board
  • to approve new members of the Association and to recommend honorary members, honorary associates and life members for election at the AGM
  • to recommend for election at the AGM the Council’s preferred candidates for President and Junior Vice President

Composition of Council

BVA Council is chaired by the President and has 43 voting members and 6 non-voting members:

  • 3 Officers (President, Junior Vice President and Senior Vice President)
  • 3 immediate past presidents
  • 9 elected regional representatives for England
  • 1 elected regional representative for Scotland
  • 1 elected regional representative for Wales
  • 1 elected regional representative for Northern Ireland
  • 1 Scottish Branch representative
  • 1 Welsh Branch representative
  • 1 Northern Ireland Branch representative
  • 19 specialist division representatives
  • 2 recent graduate representatives
  • 1 Chair of Policy Committee
  • 1 Chair of Ethics and Welfare Advisory Panel (in attendance by agreement, non-voting)
  • 1 Chair of AWF Trustees (in attendance by agreement, non-voting)
  • 4 affiliate representatives from BVNA, VPMA, AVTRW and BVLGBT+ (non-voting)

Council members

BVA Officers

  • Simon Doherty - President (Chair)
  • John Fishwick - Senior Vice President
  • Daniella Dos Santos - Junior Vice President

Regional representatives

Click below to find out more about your regional representative and to see their contact details.

Branch representatives

  • Ifan Lloyd - Welsh Branch
  • Kathleen Robertson - Scottish Branch
  • Aurelie Moralis - Northern Ireland Branch

Specialist division representatives

  • Adrienne Conroy - Association of Government Vets
  • Ronan Fitzgerald - Association of Vets in Industry
  • Katie Roberts - Association of Veterinary Students
  • Phil Elkins - British Cattle Vet Association
  • Renate Weller - British Equine Veterinary Association
  • Sue Paterson - British Small Animal Veterinary Association
  • Judith Skerritt - British Veterinary Hospitals Association
  • Charlotte Commins - British Veterinary Poultry Association
  • Fieke Molenaar - British Veterinary Zoological Society
  • Nikos Steiropoulos - Fish Veterinary Society
  • David Harwood - Goat Veterinary Society
  • Rita Rose - Laboratory Animals Veterinary Association
  • Jim Morris - Pig Veterinary Society
  • TBC - Royal Army Veterinary Corps
  • Nick Hart - Sheep Veterinary Society
  • Debra Teo - Society of Greyhound Veterinarians
  • Cat Curtis - Society of Practising Veterinary Surgeons
  • Pete Goddard - Veterinary Deer Society
  • Lewis Grant - Veterinary Public Health Association

Past Presidents

  • Gudrun Ravetz
  • Sean Wensley
  • John Blackwell

Chairs of BVA standing committees

  • Liz Mullineaux - Policy Committee
  • tbc - Ethics and Welfare Advisory Panel (non-voting)
  • Chris Laurence - Animal Welfare Foundation (non-voting)

Recent graduates

  • Grace Harman
  • Chloe Roberts

Affiliate representatives

  • Pauline Graham - Veterinary Management Group
  • Wendy Nevins - British Veterinary Nursing Association
  • Adrian Philbey - Association for Veterinary Teaching and Research Work
  • Dan Makin – British Veterinary Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and others Society