Our structure

BVA Council

Role of BVA Council

The role of BVA Council is:

  • to represent members’ views on matters of veterinary policy
  • to advise the Board on matters of veterinary policy 
  • to appoint 4 members as Directors of the Board
  • to approve new members of the Association and to recommend honorary members, honorary associates, and life members for election at the AGM
  • to recommend the Council’s preferred candidates for BVA President and Junior Vice President at the AGM

Composition of Council

BVA Council is chaired by the BVA President and has 43 voting members and 6 non-voting members:

  • 3 Officers (President, Junior Vice President and Senior Vice President)
  • 3 immediate past presidents
  • 9 elected regional representatives for England
  • 1 elected regional representative for Scotland
  • 1 elected regional representative for Wales
  • 1 elected regional representative for Northern Ireland
  • 1 Scottish Branch representative
  • 1 Welsh Branch representative
  • 1 Northern Ireland Branch representative
  • 19 specialist division representatives
  • 2 recent graduate representatives
  • 1 Chair of Policy Committee
  • 1 Chair of Ethics and Welfare Advisory Panel (in attendance by agreement, non-voting)
  • 1 Chair of AWF Trustees (in attendance by agreement, non-voting)
  • 4 affiliate representatives from BVNA, VPMA, AVTRW, and BVLGBT+ (non-voting)

Council papers and minutes

BVA members can download the latest Council papers and minutes

Vote for your regional representative

Voting is now open in four regions. Click on the links below to read the candidates' manifestos. All members eligible to vote will have received an email from our election partners at UK Engage with voting instructions. If you have any questions contact [email protected]

Council members

BVA Officers

  • James Russell - President (Chair)
  • Daniella Dos Santos - Senior Vice President
  • Justine Shotton - Junior Vice President

Branch representatives

  • Ifan Lloyd - Welsh Branch
  • Kathleen Robertson - Scottish Branch
  • Susan Cunningham - Northern Ireland Branch

Specialist division representatives

We have 20 Specialist divisions representing veterinary surgeons in different specialisms across the UK.

  • Adrienne Conroy - Association of Government Vets
  • Ronan Fitzgerald - Association of Vets in Industry
  • Izzy Arthur - Association of Veterinary Students
  • Phil Elkins - British Cattle Vet Association
  • Lucy Grieve - British Equine Veterinary Association
  • Ian Ramsey - British Small Animal Veterinary Association
  • Mike Jackson - British Veterinary Hospitals Association
  • Charlotte Commins - British Veterinary Poultry Association
  • Peter Kettlewell - British Veterinary Zoological Society
  • Dario Mascolo - Fish Veterinary Society
  • Les Eckford - Goat Veterinary Society
  • Rita Rose - Laboratory Animals Veterinary Association
  • Jim Morris - Pig Veterinary Society
  • Mike Robinson - Royal Army Veterinary Corps
  • Amanda Carson - Sheep Veterinary Society
  • Debra Teo - Society of Greyhound Veterinarians
  • Anna Judson - Society of Practising Veterinary Surgeons
  • John Fletcher - Veterinary Deer Society
  • Lewis Grant - Veterinary Public Health Association

Regional representatives

We have 12 regional representatives on Council from across the UK. 

Chairs of BVA standing committees

  • Iain Richards - Policy Committee
  • Madeleine Campbell - Ethics and Welfare Advisory Panel (non-voting)
  • Chris Laurence - Animal Welfare Foundation (non-voting)

Affiliate representatives

  • Miles Russell - Veterinary Management Group
  • Jo Hinde - British Veterinary Nursing Association
  • Conor McAloon - Association for Veterinary Teaching and Research Work
  • Tom Doyle – British Veterinary Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and others Society

Past Presidents

  • Simon Doherty
  • John Fishwick
  • Gudrun Ravetz

Recent graduates

  • Fabian Rivers
  • Chloe Roberts